top of page

How to experiment with your aesthetic

Social media is great. I spend my days scrolling through Facebook and Instagram, watching friends on Snapchat, and finding gorgeous beauty and fashion ideas on Pinterest. However, we can sometimes feel bombarded by perfect photos, themed accounts, and “aesthetic” blogs.

With increasing frequency, I hear people saying, “I wish I had her style,” or “I wish I was the type of person with a edgy/boho/sporty aesthetic.” My response to this statement is always the same — you can!

Social media has this growing trend of boxing everything into specific aesthetics. Scroll through Tumblr, and you will find aesthetics ranging from bohemian to pale grunge. For fashion enthusiasts like myself, it can feel as though there is increasing pressure to be able to label your style as one specific category. Rather than box yourself into one category, let’s unpack why aesthetics aren’t all they’re cracked up to be.

Having an “anti-aesthetic” wardrobe with a diverse range of garments means that you will never have to say “I have nothing to wear!” While there is no problem with having a specific style, there is by no means a rule that requires everyone to adhere to one aesthetic. The fashion gods will forgive you.

Rather than have items of all one color, style, material, or brand, take the pressure off yourself and just buy whatever you think looks good! Fashion is about personal expression, and life is always changing. You may wish to switch up your style based on your mood, the events you’re attending, or any number of factors! Fashion is a reflection of you, and in the same way that you aren’t expected to be the same person all the time, your closet doesn’t have to be the same, either!

One of the reasons that I love fashion is the room for experimentation. Fashion should be a fun experience, not a stressful one that boxes you in. When I shop, rather than seek out one type of style or item, I prefer to browse for things that catch my eye. Opening yourself up to various styles makes shopping a fun experience! It may mean that you shop at stores that you hadn’t considered previously, or that you try on garments that you would have never expected to buy. It is always fresh and unexpected when you shop without expectations.

Having an “anti-aesthetic” closet also allows you to create more unique looks! Pair your flowy maxi skirt with a sporty crop top. Wear an unexpected chunky boot with a chiffon dress. Your style is what you want it to be, not what other people think it should be! Accessorize in new ways, switch up your style from day to day, or layer different items to create totally new looks. With a diverse wardrobe, the only limits are your imagination.

Having a distinct and dissimilar wardrobe is also liberating in the sense that there is no pressure to have the same style from day to day. Every day is a blank slate to try whatever you like. On days that I need a confidence booster, I will try to pair a professional top with a more edgy bottom or shoe; it is a great way to feel polished and rebellious at the same time. If I need a lazy day, I will pair a comfy skater dress or a circle skirt and graphic tee with some sneakers. Some days I would describe my style as sporty-chic, others it’s more grunge, and some days it’s polished, and frequently it’s boho; so it’s easier not to categorize it at all! I just allow it to be what it is, and focus more on the look and feel of the outfit than the label I give it.

Sure, having a unified closet is fantastic for those that want it or have enough patience and organizational skills to curate it, but there is no need to aspire to that standard. A closet that adheres to one style may look nice hanging up or photographed for Instagram, but it can be a difficult thing to achieve! Style should always be something interpreted and enjoyed by the wearer. Shopping is easier and more fun, creating outfits is a daily art, and your style becomes uniquely yours when you reject the aesthetic ideal and build a closet based on your own vision. Go forth and create, fashionistas! The possibilities are only what you imagine them to be.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page